Top of the page

Graduate Teacher Programme: places still available

Back to News
Graduate Teacher Programme: places still available
HAVE YOU CONSIDERED TRANSFERRING YOUR MILITARY SKILLS TO A CAREER IN TEACHING? THE GRADUATE TEACHER PROGRAMME (AS PART OF THE WIDER TROOPS TO TEACHERS PROGRAMME) SEEKS TO SECURE EXCELLENT AND REWARDING SECOND CAREERS FOR SERVICE LEAVERS.
In March this year, the Department for Education (DfE) announced the provision of 50 Graduate Teacher Programme (GTP) places exclusively for Service Leavers with a degree to commence teacher training in September 2012. Teaching is increasingly a career for the highest quality graduates. Typically, graduates teach the subject in which they have gained their degree, and the current focus is on teaching the priority subjects (currently Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Modern Foreign Languages and Primary). There are still spaces available for this initiative, which aims to assist Service Leavers in embarking on a successful second career, whilst also providing DfE with a high quality group of teachers who can progress rapidly into school leadership roles.

Whilst there are no specific, additional ‘bursaries’ or other forms of maintained support funding earmarked for Service Leavers for this initiative, any of the normal ‘civilian’ routes for financial assistance may be pursued, according to individual circumstances and routes offered by the training provider.

The list of training providers and relevant contact details can be viewed below, and the deadline for applications was typically 31st July for a September 2012 start. However, the start date is subject to negotiation with individual teacher training providers (some of which may have a later term start date, in January).

If you are interested and think you meet the criteria, please contact your local teacher training provider as listed below. Click on the name of the training provider to be redirected to their website.

Training Provider   Contact Details Further Information 
Canterbury Christ Church University Dave Bubb, Director - Graduate Teacher Programmes
dave.bubb@canterbury.ac.uk  
01227 767700 Ext 3804
Places available in Primary, Maths and Modern Foreign Languages
Edge Hill University
Julie Bostock
bostockj@edgehill.ac.uk  
01695 650986
Places available in Maths, Chemistry and Physics
Click to view flyer
East Lincolnshire GTP Julie Woolley, GTP Manager
jwoolley@cfbt.com
Fully booked for September 2012
EM Direct
Sue Taylor, Administrator
s.taylor@emdirect.co.uk
Places available in Maths
University of Nottingham Nina Sohal
Nina.sohal@nottingham.ac.uk  
 
University of Southampton
Jan Lewis, GTP Deputy Director
01722 710262
jan@jvlewis.demon.co.uk  
Places available in Science and Maths
Click to view flyer
University of Sunderland
Steven Haswell, Senior Lecturer
Steven.haswell@sunderland.ac.uk  
Tel 0191 515 3905
or
Brenda Bell, Senior Administrator
Brenda.bell@sunderland.ac.uk 
Click to view flyer
University of Wolverhampton Sue Giacoletto, EBITT Secondary Manager
S.Giacoletto@wlv.ac.uk  
University of Worcester
Alison Winson, Head of Partnership Schools Strategic Development
a.winson@worc.ac.uk  
Places available in Modern Foreign Languages and Maths
Click to view flyer

 

For more information, visit the Teaching Agency website and register your interest using the ‘Sign Up with The Teaching Agency’ link shown on the site.